Frank Lampard Awarded Legends Of Football 2018

Frank Lampard received the Legends of Football 2018 award at a charity event at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel on Park Lane on Monday night.

Some of the biggest names in football attended the event which has been raising funds for music therapy charity Nordoff Robbins for the past 20 years, with the Who’s Roger Daltry headlining the glitzy event and presenting Lampard with his award.

The former Chelsea star and now Derby manager becomes the 22nd winner of the award since its conception in 1997 and joins last years winner Steven Gerrard and other elite names such as David Beckham, Pele, Sir Alex Ferguson, Eric Cantona, Ryan Giggs and Lampard’s uncle Harry Redknapp.

Lampard said after receiving his award: ‘It’s a real honour for me to receive the Legends of Football award this year. Just seeing my name mentioned amongst those past winners is something to cherish.’

Lampard’s career has spanned 21 years in which he has made 609 Premier League appearances and bagged 177 goals in England’s top flight from midfield. During his 13-year Chelsea career he won three Premier Leagues, four FA Cups, two League Cups, the Champions League and the Europa League.

After leaving Chelsea in 2014, Lampard spent a season at Manchester City before finishing his career with MLS side New York City. He was awarded an OBE in 2015.


Legends of Football winners

1997: John Charles

1998: Sir Stanley Matthews

1999: Nat Lofthouse

2000: Brian Clough

2001: Sir Bobby Robson

2002: Sir Bobby Charlton

2003: Tony Adams

2004: Kenny Dalglish

2005: Sir Alex Ferguson

2006: Alan Shearer

2007: Teddy Sheringham

2008: Denis Law

2009: Harry Redknapp

2010: Eric Cantona

2011: Jose Mourinho

2012: The Premier League 500 Club

2013: Pele

2014: Ryan Giggs

2015: David Beckham

2016: The Premier League 100 Club

2017: Steven Gerrard

2018: Frank Lampard