Luka Modric Crowned Best Player In The World

Croatian central midfielder Luka Modric has been crowned the best player in the world, at the Best FIFA Football awards on Monday night in London.

The 33-year-old won the Champions League with Real Madrid back in May for the third consecutive time, before leading Croatia to the 2018 World Cup final, where they lost 4-2 to France.

After receiving the award, Modric said: ‘I would like to congratulate Mohamed and Cristiano for the great seasons they had.

‘This is not just mine it’s for all my Madrid team-mates, all my Croatian team-mates and all coaches the I’ve played for – without them this would not be possible.

‘This is also for my family and without them I would not be the player and person I am. They are the best.

‘Thanks to my fans all over the world for great support and love they are showing me. It means a lot to me and I would like to thank those who voted for me.’

Former Real Madrid teammate Cristiano Ronaldo had won the award for the previous two years and alongside Lionel Messi had dominated the voting over the course of the last eleven. Kaka being the last one outside this duo to have won the award back in 2007.

Modric won the award, officially named The Best Fifa Men’s Player, ahead of Ronaldo. Surprisingly this was the first year since 2006 that Messi had not been nominated.


The winners at the Best FIFA Awards 2018:

FIFA Puskas Goal of the Year Mohamed Salah (Liverpool) vs Everton

Coach of the Year Didier Deschamps (France)

Goalkeeper of the Year Thibaut Courtois (Chelsea/Real Madrid/Belgium)

Best Women’s Coach Reynald Pedros (Lyon)

FIFA Fan Award Peru fans

Fair Play Award Lennart Thy

Best Women’s Award Marta (Orlando Pride/Brazil)

Best Men’s Award Luka Modric (Real Madrid/Croatia)